August 23, 2022


Indian School Ibri celebrated the 76 th Independence Day on the 15th of August 2022 with great enthusiasm and fervour. The programme began at 8.30 am in the school auditorium. The chief guest Dr. Vijay Shanmugam, President of the SMC, and the other SMC members graced the occasion. The programme started with a prayer song followed by the welcome speech of Ms. Twisha Rajesh of class X. To commemorate our nation’s sovereignty, the National Anthem was sung, expressing the joy of our freedom. In his welcome address, the chief guest explained to the students about the great sacrifice and struggles made by the freedom fighters for our freedom. During his speech, he urged the students to realize whether they had done anything good for the welfare of their country. Next, the Principal, Mr. Suresh, extended a warm welcome to the parents, teachers, and students. He read the speech of our Honourable President of India, Shri Droupadi Murmu, to keep the flame of patriotism alive.
Students showed love for their motherland with a mélange of patriotic songs and dances. Ms. Shirley Grace of class XI gave a significant Independence Day speech.

Leadership is the capacity to translate vision into reality.- Warren Bennis
The Investiture Ceremony is a platform to showcase the leadership skills of our students and is the most prestigious ceremony of school events. The investiture ceremony of our school 2022-2023 was held on the 15 th of August 2022 in the school auditorium. The programme began immediately after the independence day celebrations. Principal, Mr. V S Suresh, accompanying the chief guest Dr. Vijay Shanmugam, the president of the school management committee, along with other guests Mr. Naveen Vijayakumar, Treasurer of the SMC, Mr. Feslin Anish mon, member of the SMC and Mr. Firoz Hussain, former SMC member graced the occasion. A welcome song by the school choir was followed by the ceremonial march past of the office bearers of the student council. The chief guest administered badges of honour to the Head boy Mast. P. Kishore Kumar, and the Head girl Ms. Arpita Sen; Mr. Naveen Vijayakumar, Treasurer member of SMC, administered the badges to the deputy head girl Ms. Eshmal Anjum; Mr. Feslin member of the SMC, administered the badges to sports captain Ms. Alisha Bukhari; Mr. Suresh V S, the Principal, administered the badge to the Literary Coordinator Ms. Munisha Majumder. Mr. Sunny Mathew, the Vice Principal, administered the badge to the Deputy Literary Coordinator Ms. Shirley Grace. Followed by this, the prefects and the vice prefects of the four houses were conferred with their sashes badges and flags by their respective house masters and tutors. Mr. Sunny Mathew, the Vice Principal, congratulated the student council members for being elected by the council and appreciated their interest in taking up the responsibility. He continued by saying, “Leadership is certainly a set of skills that can be learned by training, practice, and experience over time”. He extended his best wishes to all the elected and selected leaders of the students’ council and advised them to become good leaders.
Then, the office bearers of the student council took the oath, which was administered by the principal. Mr. Sajimon, a teaching faculty member, proposed the vote of thanks. The solemn ceremony came to an end with the singing of the School anthem.